Two judges appointed to Iowa Court of Appeals by Governor Reynolds

by Rox Laird | May 2, 2019

Gov. Kim Reynolds appointed Marshalltown attorney Sharon Soorholtz Greer and Polk County District Judge David May to the Iowa Court of Appeals May 29.

They replace former Chief Judge David Danilson, who retired in January, and Judge Christopher McDonald, who was appointed to the Iowa Supreme Court in February.

May, 47, of Polk City, currently serves as a District Court judge in the Fifth Judicial District. He attended Northeast Missouri State University (since renamed Truman State University) and graduated from the University of Missouri. He earned his law degree from Drake Law School in 1998. Prior to his appointment to the District Court in 2016, May was a shareholder in the Bradshaw Fowler law firm in Des Moines.

Greer, 63, of Marshalltown, is a partner in the Marshalltown firm of Cartwright, Druker & Ryden She is a graduate of Iowa State University, and earned her law degree at the University of Iowa in 1982.

Go to the State Judicial Nominating Commission page on the Judicial Branch website to read applications of all 30 Court of Appeals applicants, along with videos of the Commission’s interviews with the applicants.

The Court of Appeals reviews civil and criminal actions, post-conviction proceedings, and small-claims actions transferred to it by the Iowa Supreme Court. A decision of the Court of Appeals is final unless the Supreme Court grants further review.


Tags: , , ,



  • Iowa Supreme Court Oral Arguments
  • Iowa Supreme Court Opinion and/or Further Review Conference
  • Iowa Court of Appeals Oral Arguments
  • Holidays



On Brief: Iowa’s Appellate Blog is devoted to appellate litigation with a focus on the Iowa Supreme Court, the Iowa Court of Appeals, and the U.S. Court of Appeals for the Eighth Circuit.


Related Links